On which NQF Level is Grade 9, Grade 12 (and others) Registered? Well, let’s find out.

  • Grade 9: is equivalent to NQF Level 1
  • Grade 12: is equivalent to NQF Level 4

Do you know what NQF Is all about?

The South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) is a statutory body, regulated in terms of the National Qualifications Framework Act No. 67 of 2008. It is made up of 29 members appointed by the Minister of Education in consultation with the Minister of Labour. SAQA is mandated by legislation to oversee the development and implementation of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).

All NQF levels table 2021 -2022

NQF Level Qualification How to Achieve NQF Level 
Level 1 Grade 9 Successfully complete grade 9 
Level 2 Grade 10 Complete grade 10 
Level 3 Grade 11 Complete grade 11 
Level 4Grade 12( matric) Successfully pass your matric final exam 
Level 5Higher Certificate Enroll in a higher certificate program
Level 6 National Diploma and Advanced Certificate Complete a national diploma qualification or an advanced certificate
Level 7 Bachelor’s Degree and Advanced Diploma Enrol and complete a bachelor’s degree programme
Level 8 Honours Degree and Postgraduate Diploma Enrol in an honours programme 
Level 9 Master’s DegreeSuccessfully complete a master’s Degree 
Level 10 Doctorates DegreeSuccessfully complete a doctorates degree qualification 

Questions and Answers

My Courses has a large Questions and Answers repository for the most popular High School and Tertiary Schools subjects. This comes in handy when doing your revision or preparing for exams, tests, research tasks, and assignments.

Ask Us a Question and we will send you the Answer Guide

Field is required!
Field is required!
Field is required!
Field is required!
  • - select a option -
  • Tertiary Level
  • Grade Twelve
  • Grade Eleven
  • Grade Ten
Field is required!

Leave a comment