This page contains School Holidays for 2020 for all South African Provinces: Gauteng Province, Western Cape Province, Northern Cape Province, Eastern Cape Province, Limpopo Province, Mpumalanga Province, North West Province, Free State Province, and Western Cape Province.

The 2020 school calendar:

Wednesday 1 January: New Year’s Day

Monday 13 January: Teachers back at school

Wednesday 15 January: Schools open for Term 1

Friday 20 March: Schools close

Saturday 21 March: Human Right’s Day

Human Rights Day falls on the Saturday after schools break for the autumn holiday. No workday’s leave here, unfortunately.

Tuesday 31 March: Schools open for Term 2

Friday 10 April to Monday 13 April: Easter weekend

Monday 27 April and Friday 1 May: Freedom Day and Worker’s Day

Friday 12 June: Schools close

Tuesday 16 June: Youth Day

Tuesday 7 July: Schools open for Term 3

Sunday 9 August: Women’s Day; Monday 10 August is a public holiday

Friday 18 September: Schools close

Thursday 24 September: Heritage Day

Tuesday 29 September: Schools open for Term 4

Wednesday 2 December: School’s out!

Friday 4 December: Teachers are released…

Wednesday 16 December: Day of Reconciliation

The schools close early in December in 2020, and the kids will be bored already by the 16th. If you’re not yet on leave, take the day to get them out of the house and enjoy South Africa’s fantastic weather.

Friday 25 December: Christmas Day

Saturday 26 December: Day of Goodwill

In 2020 Christmas falls on a Friday, but Day of Goodwill is on a Saturday, so no extra work days’ leave here, unless you’re a weekend worker.

The school holidays 2020 at a glance:

December holiday 2019/2020:

Schools close on 4 December 2019 and only open again Wednesday 15 January 2020. Teachers start on Monday 13 January.

SA School Terms

March 2020 holiday:

Schools close Friday 20 March and reopen Tuesday 31 March. 

June/July 2020 holiday:

Schools close Friday 12 June and reopen Tuesday 7 July.

September 2020 holiday:

Schools close Friday 18 September and reopen Tuesday 29 September.

December 2020/2021 holiday:

Schools on Wednesday 2 December; last day for teachers is Friday 4 December 2020.

Source: Department of Basic Education and Parent 24