On this page we will discuss the three levels of State Government in South Africa. There is a working relationship between the three spheres of government in South Africa.

Did you know? A government is the system or group of people governing an organized community, generally a state. In the case of its broad associative definition, government normally consists of legislature, executive, and judiciary.

Three levels of State in South Africa

South Africa is a constitutional democracy with a three-tier system of government and an independent judiciary. The national, provincial and local levels of government all have legislative and executive authority in their own spheres, and are defined in the Constitution as distinctive, interdependent and interrelated.

The Constitution of South Africa sets the rules for how government works. There are three spheres of government in South Africa:

  • National government
  • Provincial government
  • Local government


Western Cape Government

South African Government


Leave a comment