South African Subjects and Pass Requirements

In South Africa, the CAPS (Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statement) system outlines the school curriculum and the requirements for passing each grade, including the crucial Matriculation (Grade 12) year. Here’s an overview of the CAPS subjects and the general pass requirements for South African schools:

CAPS School Subjects:

CAPS covers a wide range of subjects, divided into different phases:

  1. Foundation Phase (Grade R-3):
    • Home Language
    • First Additional Language
    • Mathematics
    • Life Skills
  2. Intermediate Phase (Grade 4-6) and Senior Phase (Grade 7-9):
    • Home Language
    • First Additional Language
    • Mathematics
    • Natural Sciences and Technology (Intermediate) / Natural Sciences (Senior)
    • Social Sciences
    • Life Skills (Intermediate) / Life Orientation (Senior)
    • Optional subjects like Economic and Management Sciences (Grade 7-9), Technology, Arts and Culture, etc.
  3. Further Education and Training (FET) Phase (Grade 10-12):
    • Home Language
    • First Additional Language
    • Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy
    • Life Orientation
    • Three elective subjects chosen from a list that may include Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Geography, History, Accounting, Business Studies, Information Technology, and various others depending on the school.

Subjects Pass Requirements:

The requirements for passing each grade vary, with the Matric (Grade 12) year having specific criteria:

  1. Grade 1 to 9:
    • Generally, students need to achieve a certain level of performance in all subjects, with specific requirements varying by grade and school.
    • Assessments are continuous throughout the year.
  2. Grade 10 and 11:
    • Students must pass a certain number of subjects at a specified percentage, which typically includes passing Home Language at 40%, two other subjects at 40%, and three more subjects at 30%.
    • The final mark includes school-based assessments and end-of-year exams.
  3. Matric (Grade 12):
    • Pass at least 6 of the 7 subjects.Achieve 40% or more in three subjects, one of which must be an official Home Language.Achieve at least 30% in three other subjects.Fail only one subject, which should be below 30%.The requirements can slightly differ for students taking subjects on the Higher Grade or Standard Grade.
    There are also levels of pass in Matric, like Bachelor’s Pass, Diploma Pass, and Higher Certificate Pass, determining eligibility for tertiary education.

CAPS aims to standardize education across South Africa, ensuring all students receive a comprehensive and balanced education. The system is designed to equip students with knowledge, skills, and values to participate fully in society and build the foundation for further education and employment.

Careers with Pure Mathematics Subject Choice

Courses Directory: Study Resources

Grade 12 Subjects

Grade 11 Subjects

Grade 10 Subjects

Grade 9 Subjects

Grade 8 Subjects

Grade 7 Subjects

Grade 6 Subjects

Grade 5 Subjects

Grade 4 Subjects

Grade 3 Subjects

Grade 2 Subjects

Grade 1 Subjects

Grade R Subjects

Looking for something specific?


Related Posts