The University of Johannesburg (known colloquially as ‘UJ’) is a public university located in Johannesburg, South Africa. The University of Johannesburg came into existence on 1 January 2005 as the result of a merger between the Rand Afrikaans University (RAU), the Technikon Witwatersrand (TWR) and the Soweto and East Rand campuses of Vista University. Prior to the merger, the Daveyton and Soweto campuses of the former Vista University had been incorporated into RAU. As a result of the merger of Rand Afrikaans University (RAU), it is common for alumni to refer to the university as RAU. The newly emerged institution is one of the largest comprehensive contact universities in South Africa, with nine faculties having more than 90 departments and an enrollment of approximately 48,000 students, spreading over four different campuses. The university is one of the largest residential universities in the Republic of South Africa.

UJ Campuses

APK, or the Kingsway Campus Auckland Park (former RAU campus)

APK, is the largest and most populated campus of the University of Johannesburg. It is also the seat of the administration and governance body of the university. The campus was formerly the only educational campus of the Rand Afrikaans University. The campus gets its name from a major Johannesburg road, Kingsway Avenue, that runs along the north-east side of the campus. The roads that form the boundary of the campus are (clock-wise) University Road, Ditton Avenue, Ripley Road, Hampton Avenue, Studente Avenue, Akademie Road and Perth Road. Although the official name of the campus implies that it is in Auckland Park, it actually falls just out of that suburb by one street. It is technically in the suburb of Rossmore with the first-year parking lot bordering the suburb of Melville, Gauteng.

APB, or the Bunting Road Campus Auckland Park (former TWR campus)

The ABP was originally a campus of the Technikon Witwatersrand. Unique about the campus is the fact that the campus is an enclosed section of a suburb. The main throughfair of the suburb is Bunting Road. The name Bunting Road, according to the City of Johannesburg archives is derived from a subspecies of bird and not the decorative banner it is currently associated with.

DFC, or the Doornfontein Campus (former TWR campus)

SWC, or the Soweto Campus (former RAU campus, previously former Vista University Soweto campus)

UJ Faculties

Art, Design and Architecture

The Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture (FADA) offers programmes in eight creative disciplines, expanding these fields beyond their traditional boundaries through internal and external collaborations. It has a strong focus on sustainability and relevance, and engages with the dynamism, creativity and diversity of Johannesburg in imagining new approached to art and design. Equipped with state-of-the-art, custom-built facilities, the Faculty is staffed by highly regarded academics, designers and artists. FADA’s research focus areas include: Visual Identities in Art and Design (VIAD) which explores visual expressions of identity as a specialised area of knowledge and expertise in art and design research; and the Design Society Development DESIS Lab which is a multi-disciplinary community of practice that seeks to better understand how design can best serve the emerging needs of broader society, specifically in the face of staggering inequality and rapid change in Gauteng, South Africa. FADA is home to the following departments:

Economic and Financial Sciences

The faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences research focus areas include: economics, econometrics, credit management, banking, accounting, taxation, auditing, cost and management accounting, finance.


The faculty of Education research focus areas include: ecologists of learning to ecologists of practice, learning to be a teacher – towards learner outcomes in schools, discourse and performative practice of teachers in language literacy and communication, keystone species in the science and mathematics classrooms of two schools, teachers building practice as community counselors, teachers and tools: crafting technology education in practice, teacher identity and the culture of schools, Information and communication technology in schools, Values and human rights in education, and aggression in secondary schools in South Africa.

Engineering and the Built Environment

The faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment research focus areas include: civil engineering materials research, chromium steels, control and image processing, industrial electronics technology, manufacturing, mineral processing and technology, optical communications, process optimization of thermodynamic systems, small-scale mining and minerals, speech and signal processing, telecommunications, unmanned aerial vehicles, water research.

  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering Science
  • Department of Civil Engineering Technology
  • Department of Construction Management and Quantity Surveying
  • Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Science
  • Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technology
  • Department of Metallurgy
  • Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering Technology
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering Science
  • Department of Mine Surveying
  • Department of Mining Engineering
  • Department of Town and Regional Planning
  • Department of Aircraft Maintenance and Engineering

Health Sciences

The faculty of Health Sciences research focus areas include: Laser Research, optometrics science, Water and Health Research. There is also a big department for sport studies which include Sport psychology, sport management, sport communication, sport development and sport science.


The faculty of Humanities research focus areas include: social Development in Africa, sociological Research, culture and Languages in Africa, African-European studies, study of Democracy.


The faculty of Law research focus areas include: study of Economic crime, Private International Law in Africa, banking Law, International Law in Africa, International and comparative Labour and social security Law, sport Law.456505


The faculty of Management research focus areas include: skills in the transport arena, Economic Governance and Local business, the Enterprise of craft, Practices of travel agencies.


The faculty of Science research focus areas include: Nanotechnology, Energy and sustainable Development, aquatic Eco-toxicology, Economic Geo-metallurgy.

Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture​​

Faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment

Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty of Humanities

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Management

University of Johannesburg Courses

, , , , , ,